The Board of the Global Fund has three committees that serve to provide expertise in specific subject areas. Here we provide information on the:


Each committee has delegated authority from the Board to perform decision-making, advisory and oversight in their specific areas. Coordination of the work of the committees and the Board is managed by the Coordinating Group. Each committee's charter is available below for download.

Audit and Finance Committee

Its role is to ensure optimal performance of the corporate and financial operations of the Global Fund. It:

  • Provides oversight of the financial management of the Global Fund’s resources
  • Provides oversight of the internal and external audit functions
  • Oversees the investigation functions of the Global Fund
Ethics and Governance Committee

This committee ensures that the Global Fund and its stakeholders adhere to appropriate standards of ethical behavior. It:

  • Oversees implementation of the procedures and operations related to the Global Fund’s governance structure and its core governance functions
Strategy Committee

Its purpose is to:

  • Provide oversight of the strategic direction of the Global Fund
  • Ensure the optimal impact and performance of its investments in health


Committee members are drawn from the membership of the constituencies that make up the Board. The Board Member, the Alternate, or any other member of the constituency can serve on any of the committees. Committee members serve for a term of two years.

Selection of committee membership is the responsibility of the Coordinating Group. Every two years, the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Board will solicit nominations from the constituencies and, together with the rest of the Coordinating Group, will appoint committee members, ensuring a balance between donor countries, implementing countries, civil society, the private sector and foundations.

Audit and Finance Committee
  • Greg Ferrante (Chair)
  • Beatrijs Stikkers (Vice-Chair)
  • Grace Rwakarema, Eastern and Southern Africa
  • Soltan Mammadov, Eastern Europe & Central Asia
  • Thamer Al-Hilfi, Eastern Mediterranean
  • Grégoire Lacoin, European Commission, Belgium, Italy, Portugal, Spain
  • Perrine Bonvalet-Döring, France
  • Peter Maertens, Independent
  • Jean-Michel Ferat, Independent
  • Sanne Fournier-Wendes, Partners
  • Erika Satterwhite, Private Sector
  • Sugata Ghosh Dastidar, South East Asia
  • Anthony R Garnett, United Kingdom
  • Mike Ruffner, United States
  • Mengjie Han, Western Pacific Region
  • Alexandru Cebotari, World Bank
Ethics and Governance Committee
  • Jan Paehler (Vice-Chair)
  • Jacques Mader, Canada Switzerland Australia
  • Jason Wright, Developed Country NGOs
  • Ana Filipovska, Eastern Europe and Central Asia
  • Joan Dubinsky, Independent
  • Mirta Roses Periago, Latin America and Caribbean
  • Sarah Boulton, United Kingdom
  • Sandy Thurman, United States
Strategy Committee
  • Dorothee Kinde-Gazard (Chair)
  • Julia Martin (Vice-Chair)
  • Rico Gustav, Communities
  • Jorge Saavedra, Developing Country NGOs
  • Vinand Nantulya, Eastern and Southern Africa
  • Michèle Boccoz, France
  • Heiko Warnken, Germany
  • Manabu Sumi, Japan
  • Melanie Renshaw, Partners
  • Anders Nordström, Point Seven
  • Kieran Daly, Private Foundations
  • Jim Tulloch, Technical Evaluation Reference Group
  • Jeremiah Chakaya Muhwa, Technical Review Panel
  • Mayowa Joel, West and Central Africa
  • LV Fan, Western Pacific Region
  • Mubashar Sheikh, World Health Organization

Upcoming meetings

Meeting Date
6th Strategy Committee 20 - 22 March 2018
6th Audit and Finance Committee 27 - 29 March 2018
6th Ethics and Governance Committee 13 - 15 March 2018
7th Ethics and Governance Committee 4 - 6 July 2018
7th Strategy Committee 10 - 12 July 2018
7th Audit and Finance Committee 17 - 19 July 2018
8th Ethics and Governance Committee 25 - 27 September 2018
8th Strategy Committee 3 - 5 October 2018
8th Audit and Finance Committee 9 - 11 Oct 2018