Funding Model

The Global Fund / John Rae


Whether a country or region is eligible for Global Fund support is determined by the Eligibility Policy, which is designed to ensure available resources are allocated to countries with the highest disease burden, the lowest economic capacity, and where key and vulnerable populations are disproportionately affected by the diseases.

Eligibility is determined by a country’s income classification, as measured by gross national income (GNI) per capita (World Bank Atlas Method), and disease burden classification. Country and component eligibility are published on an annual basis in the Eligibility List.

The 2019 Eligibility List does not impact allocation funding during the 2017-2019 period. The next allocation is expected to take place at the end of 2019, for the 2020-2022 period. A country disease program would need to be eligible on the 2020 Eligibility List to be considered for an allocation in the next funding period, noting that eligibility does not guarantee an allocation. If a country has no eligible programs, it does not appear on the list.

  • 2019 Eligibility List
    download in English


To facilitate advanced planning by eligible countries that will transition from Global Fund support, the Global Fund has produced a list of country components projected to transition fully from Global Fund financing by 2025 due to improvements in income classification and based on current eligibility criteria. These projections are not intended as binding determinations or statements of Global Fund policy, and are only provided as an additional resource to assist countries in preparing for transition.

  • Projected Transitions from Global Fund Support by 2025
    download in English

For more information, see our Transition page.